Pin-up represents a digital version of a physical bulletin board and allows end-users to post personal messages.
With Pin-Up all your announcements, promotions and events will be gathered and displayed on your Splash Portal: in this way the end-users who connect to your service will read these messages and will be able to post as well.
It is figuratively like a real bulletin board where everyone can pin up a message through a very funny graphic solution based on animated pin and paper. Clients can write that in your local their drunk the best coffee ever or be grateful for your kindness but they can also post that they are selling their bicycle or looking for a new flat! It is easy figuring out how this tool can become a sort of social board where paople love interacting together.
Control Panel management
In general, all these rules under which messages are created or displayed, are set by the system users: you can do it by clicking the Manage button in the Marketplace.
The following options are available:
- Pre-authentication: by enabling this checkbox also unauthenticated users will be able to pin messages on the board.
- Total of notes: this option indicates the maximum number of notes that can be displayed into the bulletin board. When the limit is reached, end-users are not able to insert further notes. By entering a value of 0 or a blank value, it is possible to insert an unlimited number of notes.
- Delete notes older than: this option indicates the maximum number of hours of life of each entered message. After the entered number of hours, each note will be deleted. By entering a value of 0 or a blank value, it is possible to insert an unlimited number of notes.
- User notes: this option indicates the maximum number of notes allowed per user. Please note that this option cannot affect unauthenticated users, since there is no way to know who an unauthenticated user is.
- Send notification: this option allows to enable automatic email notifications when a message is inserted on the board.
- Email: when Send notification are enabled, this option allows to specify one email address to receive notifications.
By clicking the View bulletin board button, the system user is able to view all messages that are currently published on the board and, if wished, is also able to delete messages by clicking the appropriate button (this feature is essential when moderation is needed).
By clicking the Settings button for an application, the Tenant is able to set the following access and usage rules:
- Management: this option indicates the access policies for each application. It is necessary to specify one of the following values:
- Unified: only the Tenant is able to configure the application and this configuration is applied to all WiFi Areas managed by the Tenant. WiFi Area Owners are not able to perform any action on them. The button Manage and the button Uninstall can be viewed only by the Tenant.
- Differentiated: each WiFi Area can be configured separately, and the settings and the available options depend on the value specified for the Responsibility option (as explained below).
- Responsibility: this option is available only if the Management is Differentiated. One of the following values must be specified:
- Tenant: the Tenant can manage and configure independently each application for any WiFi Area, through the options in the Apps tab of the WiFi Area section for the wished WiFi Area. The button Manage and the button Uninstall can be viewed neither by the Tenant nor the WiFi Area Owner.
- WiFi Area: the Tenant and the WiFi Area Owner are both able to configure the applications. The WiFi Area Owner can do this by clicking the Manage button, the Tenant has to open the Apps tab in the WiFi Area section, for the wished WiFi Area. The button Manage and the button Uninstall can be viewed only by the WiFi Area Owner.
End-users can access the application through the App Bar and view the messages in the bulletin board.
In order to add a new message, when allowed by the settings specified by system users, it is necessary to click the New note button.
And then specify following fields:
- Text of the note: the text displayed on the note.
- Your name: the name displayed in the bottom-right corner of the note
- Color: the color of the paper of the note
Once clicked, the note will appear in the bulletin board.